Do people really let large limit orders sit on the books?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by stephencrowley, Jan 29, 2006.

1. I noticed an interesting thing when studying ARCA book depth for IWM offers.

I plotted the best price vs. the marginal price paid by consuming all shares up to and including the price 0.25% away from the best price.

Times are CST.

[​IMG]

At 10AM CST a large number of offers to buy showed up between the best and 0.25% away from the best, increasing the average price difference from 10 cents to 40 cents.

At 1PM the market moved up and either all the orders were filled or canceled and the relative spread decreased from 40 cents back to 10 cents.

Coincidence? Do large players really tip their hand by letting their orders test on the books, or do they cancel as the market moves towards them.

2. don't know if this is what you mean but- when i started trading (good old bullets...) it was common to see large order suddenly 'lifted' off the books on the NYSE- and for the price to suddenly swing the other way.

I certainly don't trust the books too much any more- even when you see a short stepping down there are too many people who know that they can simply do that, take out some support with a few shares, let the price drop as traders short ahead of that large order (still done today, even without bullets- and a way many new day traders cut their teeth, even if it isn't so profitable today...) then lift that short- creating a short squeeze, during which i assume they then buy.

Same goes for normal resistance - you will see a large order keeping prices down- then it suddenly gets lifted and the stock shoots up- either to immediately fall down as people short into the false breakout or keep going...

not a big fan of trading off the books too often now - too many traders trying to create false moves.