Do markets have to be inefficient for you to capitalize on them?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by c_323_h, Jun 29, 2005.

Do Markets have to be inefficient to make money?

1. Yes

31 vote(s)
    62.0%
  2. No

19 vote(s)
    38.0%
  1. c_323_h

c_323_h

Yes. they do have to be inefficient for you to capitalize on them.

No, they don't.

My opinion is they don't because either way prices move. Its just a matter of fact of being on the right side of the trade.

2. H2O

H2O

As a spread trader I can only say... yes :D

3. Hi guys,

What do YOU call an INEFFICIENT market?
    :D

4. toe

toe

as nononsense seems to be intimating it depends in what way you describe inefficient.

An efficient market seems to mean a random market. No markets are completely random or otherwise nobody would trade them. But most markets have a high degree of randomness otherwise everybody would make millions. Actually its a ballancing act, the less randomness in a market the more likely someone will try to exploit the non-random oportunity to profit. When they profit they remove one more opportunity from the market and perhaps make it more random. Of cousre a new competitor could beat an existing competitor if the new trading model is more efficient (at detecting non-randomness).

5. The market should be inefficient for the system the others use, so that they can lose money; and the market should be efficient for your system so that you can try to catch the money the others lose.
    But always remember: the others must lose, otherwise you can't win.

I think you started from a wrong point of view: not the efficiency of the markets is important, but the efficiency of your system is all that matters. The tradres with the most efficient system will make the money, no matter if the markets are efficient or not.

6. No, the reason is, prices are not always accurate.

To capitalize you just need the price to move, not be inefficient.