Do indicators work?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by links, Mar 23, 2003.

1. links

links Guest

When I started trading a while back, like most people starting out I first looked at and build strategies using moving averages, simple , exponential, crossover etc. Then after several years moved on to MACD, which I think is much superior to ma systems. I finally settled on simple range breakout systems. In all my backtesting w/ multiyear data, simple range breakout systems consistently beat other strategies which utilize indicators.

I also believe entry although important, only plays a small role in the success of a system. Other parts like deciding which mkt to trade, what timeframe to trade (2 min, 5 min, 15 min etc), how many contracts/shares to trade, exits(very important imo), stop loss etc play a much greater role.

I am not attacking the validity of indicators just sharing that they haven't work for me ( maybe I am doing something worg).

Wondering what indicators do others use to build their trading systems? Also how do put together your strategy, what are some of the components?

Thanks

2. indicators are just an easier way to visualize what price is doing. they are not magic. i believe that for an entry indicator to work well it has to have a following. by that i mean enough people have to be watching that indicator and acting on it to make it useful.

3. Besides the responses you get here, there is a ton of stuff written already regarding your questions. If you haven't already, try the SEARCH function.

4. I rank, in order of importance, the following facets of making money:

1. Market selection,
    2. Small universe in equities markets and only trading a single or very closely related commodities,
    3. Optimum trading frequency (fractal)
    4. Market pace
    5. Volume
    6. Price formations
    7. Protection
    8. Signal sequences
    9. Indicator signals
    10. Indicator formations