Discussion of Crude Oil technicals- emotion-free technical conversation...

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by gangof4, Jun 20, 2008.

1. gangof4

gangof4

thought i'd attempt to start a thread on CL dedicated to technical analysis, since most CL threads consist of baseless opinion/emotion and justification of ones real or imagined positions in CL.

ideally, if this thread gains any traction, i'd like to see commentary not only on CL technicals, but also those of oil drivers (ie: currencies, for one).

yes, there are geopolitical forces that can and will trump any t/a if the event is significant enough. i do believe these events warrant discussion in this thread, but only as they pertain to technicals (ie: focusing on how CL price action reacts to bullish or bearish news).

my skin in the game:

i am a technical trader who, for some inexplicable (and ill-timed) reason decided to pick a top in CL and shorted @ 124. rode it like an idiot with no discipline to 135, took 1/2 off when it went back down to 126 and continue to hold the short now until this trading range is resolved. so, yeah... got my dick handed to me for ignoring the charts- part and parcel as to why i have started this thread.

2. Demand > Supply.

3. clacy

clacy

Did you not read his post?

4. gangof4

gangof4

20 june:

curious as to whether others view today's action as bearish. we had the kitchen sink thrown at CL: 2 attacks in Nigeria, Israel practice bombing Iran war games, Iran talking tough in response, talking heads calling for $250-500 oil, Chavez yacking, the dollar getting torched, talk of China's refiners buying more crude with new improved margins, some more north sea chatter.... pretty much everything but locust, and CL failed to spike any higher than 137.50 and then sold off to where it is currently $2.75 below that peak.