Discretionary Trader --- Minds devilish way of categorizing memories!!!

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by scalper21, Jun 19, 2006.

1. A little background before I dive into the topic. I am a discretionary trader who only looks at the ES, ER2, NQ - MD Trader windows on my TT workstation. I do not use charts. My objective is to be positive(profitable) everyday. I trade often and take my losers quickly! The examples are based on my experience, but are not true stories

The topic I would like to discuss is the minds way of categorizing memories, and how this can be destructive to my trading. I will use 2 examples to explain the topic.

1.Lets say the last two weeks(6-5-06 to 6-16-06) I am down $500 after expenses. I have had 9 profitable days, and one large losing day(Friday June 9th). My average winning day was $500. The one losing day I lost $5000. I come in today and my mind is stuck on the fact that I lost $5000. The intensity of the negative thought overwhelms me. I cannot separate myself from the thought. It is almost like the other 9 profitable days did not happen. I cannot even feel good about having 5 profitable days last week. Monday's(6-19-06) trading day begins. I make a couple of small trades. After a half hour I am up $150. The negative tone to the day has not lifted. I begin to panic and put on a 15 lot long position in ER2 buying new highs. The trade goes my way by ten ticks. I am up $1600 on the day. My mind deducts this amount from the 5,000 I lost on Friday(5-9-06). In my mind the market only has $3400 more to give me. Well large selling comes in I freeze and do not take any profits. I watch as the market continues to sell off. I have many opportunities to take profits, but sit on my hands. ............... Finally I exit .........now i have another $5000 loss to stick in my brain!!! When I finally exit I am down $5000 on the day.