discretionary entries but automated exits

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by nasdorq, Jun 11, 2008.

1. nasdorq

nasdorq

I was wondering if someone might have a link to software that allows for automated exits on trades.

I'm an equities trader who has been struggling with psychology for years now. I find some great trades, but once I'm in, my objective analysis goes out the window, I stare at level 2 and the P&L, and consequently dive out at the first sign of green without seeing an exit signal. Consequently I never hit a home run. I don't seem to be able to conquer this problem, so I figured automated exits would be a major major help. I've been searching around for software, found some links, but it seems most automated software would work on a continuous basis, meaning constantly generating buy/sell signals. I am looking for something to automate the exit only. Even just basic criteria, such as selling half at a target price, and the other half on a moving average cross over, while having a stop loss below, would be huge. I use Interactive Brokers, and don't have much programming experience when it comes to coding. If anyone has any leads I would be beyond appreciative as for me this would be the difference between a slighly profitable trader and a successful one. This seems like an issue many traders struggle with so perhaps something like this could benefit others as well.

cheers