Discount brokers and my frear of broker insolvency

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by ToSubu, Apr 16, 2010.

1. ToSubu

ToSubu

Hi

I'm fairly new to this game. I invest in / trade stocks. NO options. I'm NOT a US Citizen (Non resident Alien seems to be the technical term)

Broker insolvency scares me..hard earned money vanishing because some one had gleaming offices or a bad business model ...

Most discount online brokers say that FDIC covers upto 100,000 in cash and rest is covered by some insurance. That insurance seems inadequate to me. Adverts like "...we have 100 million additional from LLoyds of London.." mean nothing IF there are half a million clients each having 100,000 extra !!.

My request to the august forum here
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Which ONLINE brokers offer the best bargain between

(a) Strong financials : My primary concern at the moment ..ref. above

(b) Decent executions - I place limit orders mainly so smart routing etc is NOT a problem

(c) Commissions : Given the above two, cheaper the better. Less than $10 commission per Stock trade is what I am aiming for.

(d) Please eliminate Scottrade, Options House etc : They do not take me ! I'm NOT a US Citizen (Non resident Alien )

Thanks in advance &
    Best regards

Subu

2. Its pretty simple,
    Use a publicly listed NYSE/NASDAQ broker.
    if they are ever in trouble and dips below $5, pull out all your funds.
    The stock market will tell you the troubles before the troubles appear :)

View etrade's chart for more info on this.

3. ToSubu

ToSubu

Thanks Coolweb. That's a great starting point. I used Google to look at the quoted ones (related companies)

Except one or two of the quoted ones (that I could find, like TD Ameritrade), the rest do _not_ handle internationals or the rest charge above US $ 10 per stock trade.... and hence my original request...