Direct routed order execution comparison?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Kaga, Mar 10, 2022.

1. Kaga

Kaga

Platforms such as DAS Trader or Sterling Trader are well known for their superior order execution capabilities. I'm curious how their order executions compare to direct routed orders executed by TWS of Interactive Brokers? Is there any advantage in linking DAS or Sterling with IB for execution, or are directed orders just as fast in TWS?

2. As far as I know, they don't do any of that, they're just front end, connecting your trading account to their graphical interface with an API.

3. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Kaga- I'll add Lightspeed Trader in addition to Sterling Trader Pro, I have no knowledge of DAS, excel at fast order entry with configurable order tickets, hot keys and hot buttons. This helps an active trader get the order out of the software fast. The speed of execution is dependent on other factor such as how fast risk checks are done, your distance and time to the servers in NJ, and the routes that are chosen. Our customers tell us that the use of an ECN or Exchange vs the free routes, is materially faster, especially during high volume times.

qlai likes this.
  4. MrMuppet

MrMuppet

Please make sure you understand what you are getting into.
    Direct access means you are responsible for choosing venue, route and order type.

Currently we're looking at close to 70 different order types for NYSE Arca and there are 13 different exchanges in the US. Make sure to check if all order types and routes you want to use are available from your broker of choice.

Going from the play doh market that is offered by retail brokers such as IB towards direct access is a steep learning curve, so make sure to account for that or you will be completely lost.

Go through every exchanges order types and learn what they do and how they are used.