Direct Access vs. Professional Firm

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Simba, Dec 3, 2001.

1. Simba

Simba

What are traders' opinions on being a DIRECT ACCESS TRADER vs. trading at a PROFESSIONAL FIRM?

Obvious differences are:
    1. Margin (4:1 vs. 10:1, intraday)
    2. Licensure (Professional trading requires Series 7 license, DAT does not)

2. Simba..

you missed the three most important benefits of being with a pro firm.. i mean seriously, market access is not any different(with the exception of bullets.. well, and the 20 second nasdaq fills that plague certain firms ::cough:: ).. and most strategies dont require alot of margin.. the real advantages are..

1.) education by people who have a clue..
    2.) association with profitable traders..
    3.) entertainment.. i mean come on.. have you read hitmans journal? its a regular soap opera.. =)

ive been trading for 2 years.. at first i was trading spreads on NYSE.. made money no problem.. then i switched to nasdaq trading because decimals were coming and got my head handed to me.. in hindsight the learning curve probably wouldnt have been as expensive if i had been able to use the experience of other traders to guide my education.. but, at the time i didnt know how stupid i really was.. i have a real good understanding now though =).. in fact, im thinking of making a move at the beginning of the year.. there are people making a million a year trading, but none of them ever come to trade here at my house.. so i figure if i want to learn from them, i might ought to go where they are..

-qwik

3. lescor

lescor

That's the main reason I've decided to go with a pro firm. To associate with and learn from top notch traders.

4. Magna

Magna Administrator

Qwik,

What city and what firm(s) are you seriously considering? I've also noticed those million-dollar traders don't stop by my home either...

5. Turok

Turok

>well, and the 20 second nasdaq fills that
    >plague certain firms ::cough::