difference between tops and bottoms ?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by diversions, Jan 17, 2010.

1. I have been trading a reversal strategy for about 4 months I have been taking about 2 trades a day.
    I have one set up I know inside and out and I look for it in basically all of the tradable symbols
    Index futures currencies oil gold etc

I looked into my trade station trade manager and I found that I had a profit factor of 224
    On my longs and 118 on my shorts. I knew I was doing a lot better going long but the disparity surprised me
    My setup cant be back tested because it involves multiple time frames and plenty of subjective interpretation
    I am trying to figure out if I should just drop shorting altogether. Which would make life a lot easier or will things eventually even out ?
    In other words is fading like buying in reverse or is there an innate difference
    I am hoping some one can give me an informed answer as for theorizing I can do that well enough on my own
    Thanks in advance for your time

2. Yes shorting tops are the same as buying bottoms..You want to know why? Well I don't know and I'm sure no one else could tell you in detail.. I just know by studying charts over and over... How long have you been trading? Because reversals are only one way to make money..and on trendy days you will most likely get hurt.. My question is.. If the shorts are working out why would you stop trading them?

3. Handle123

Handle123

Yes, there are huge differences between tops and bottoms. Very seldom do congestion occur at tops, whereas on bottoms, congestion is often the norm. And there is reasons why congestion normally occur in bottoms and uptrends.

Same with Climatic bars are more true at tops than bottoms.