Difference Between Speculative and Hedge Accounts

Discussion in 'Trading' started by jspittler, Nov 6, 2009.

1. jspittler

jspittler

I am a new trader and have noticed that when setting up an account, I am asked whether it is to be a speculative or a hedge account. I have no trouble answering this question appropriately for my situation, but...

I am very curious what the differences are between accounts set up one way vs. the other. What all does this affect?

From what I can tell, this might affect margin, taxes, ???

I would like to have a better understanding of this subject.

Thanks,

Judd

2. 1) Hedge accounts must have assets and liabilities "invested" in the underlying commodity they claim to be hedging. Grain hedgers must have farmland, storage elevators, processing/milling facilities, rail cars, tanker trucks, barges and/or ocean freighters that demonstrate that they actually "deal" with a commodity.
    2) You can't be a speculator and try to pass yourself off otherwise.
    3) Hedgers can receive better margin treatment when they "hedge".
    4) It demonstrates that the markets exist for commercial users first, speculative users second.
    5) ?.......April-2007? It's about time that you posted something. :cool:

3. bighog

bighog Guest

4. bighog

bighog Guest

5. google FAS 133

6. Speculative = 10:1 leverage
    Hedge = 100:1 leverage.

7. jspittler

jspittler

Thanks for the replies so far. I am getting a better handle on some of the differences in how speculative and hedge positions are treated. The "FAS 133" suggestion was very useful.

nazzdack made a nice numbered list, so I may try to use that for some comments:

No confusion here.

Sounds reasonable. No arguments here.

I would like to get a bit more clarification here. Let me give an example to show where I am confused.