Did you get your MBA?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Joe, Sep 25, 2005.

Did you get your MBA?

1. Yes

22 vote(s)
    35.5%
  2. No

37 vote(s)
    59.7%
  3. I should have, it would have helped me alot.

3 vote(s)
    4.8%
  1. Joe

Joe

Where did you go to school for BA and MBA?
    Was it worth it?
    Was it a requirement to get your current occupation?

2. Norm

Norm

I got an MBA from Cal State Fullerton. It was not a requirement for my job. However, I think that it gave me a better understanding of business, and that can only help with trading.

For me, it was worth it. However, this depends a lot on exactly what you want to do with your life. It can help a lot in some professions, very little in others. If you want to run a business (of your own or for others), then I strongly recommend it.

If you want to be employed based upon having an MBA, go to the best school that you possibly can. It does matter.

If you are going just to learn and improve youself, then which school you pick is not as important as how much effort you put into the program.

Good Luck!

3. 9th Gate

9th Gate

I "earned" an MBA in finance from Rutgers (NJ). Has not paid off yet, but may someday ? I got it to try and help me for a transition into the finance industry.

Negatives:

1. Cost - I billed $40k to my previous employer. Would not have paid on my own. Schools also will collect tuition from part time students, but will not help you find employment, your on your own.
    2. Finance classes are not geared towards trading or practical applications, they are still pushing that Efficient Market Theory nonsense. Will not help with trading at all. If anything it will set you back.
    3. Did not like the fact that out of the 20 classes you needed to complete the program, only 6 could be in your major finance. So I would recommend doing a quant degree or financial engineering program vs MBA for trading.