Developing an edge...

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by mizhael, Jun 19, 2011.

1. Hi all,

Having been working on systematic prop trading at a shop for a while, I would like to hear your thoughts about developing an edge in trading. Do you think digging deeper into the fundamentals of the energy world will lead to an edge? On the other hand, I can of course stay at the systematic/technical/quant level - there, what I learned are things like backtesting trend-following, mean-reverting, stat-arb, pairs-trading stuff. These techniques are okay, but will I be able to improve my edge if I gain deeper understanding about the refineries, pipelines, chemicals, etc? My background is half economics and half quantitative science and I have lots of interests in both the fundamental and quantitative worlds. I just wanted to know where I should better spend my time studying... The oil traders I've chatted with seem to care more about sentiment and flow, gained thru social, drinks, parties and chatting with their fellow traders.

Please shed some lights on me. Thank you!

2. Very hard for me to understand what you want to do exactly. Sounds like you are trying to get some ideas while at the same time not revealing exactly what you do or will be doing. For example:

- what are you trading? Spot, futures, crude, products?

- what is your timeframe? Intra, position, longterm?

How can you expect anyone to give you advice without the proper info?

and something more:

- what are you going to offer to someone in return for helping you in making a carrier?

3. Ha-haaa..

a candy:p

4. candyman? :)

5. Good questions. The vagueness of my question lies fundamentally in "systematic macro trading"... it's about everything in futures. So in fact, all the commodities and financial futures. And there is no limit to the time frames.