Deserpate to find a trader job...help?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by xxfunguyxx, Jul 20, 2008.

1. Hi guys,

New to the forum. I ve been searching a long time to find a forum where I can inquire about help getting a trader, trader assistant, or anything that relates or will allow me to eventually become a trader job.

I really very much want to be a trader, expically a forex trader. I just wanted to ask how I could pursue this goal

I am just a recent cornell graduate who have done 3 internships as a accountant, analyst, and consultant. I know that is not much at all, and I need a lot of help and luck...but any advice? thanks

2. mounafia

mounafia

a lot of people want this kind of job and you do not have the background to get it.

My advice : open an individual account, trade....when you will be able to show good or great results, you will get the job.

3. Whats up, I am class of '06. Cornelltrak had entry level jobs with a FX firm in NYC as recently as last year. I forgot the name name of the company, but I remember seeing it.

4. You want advice?

Clean up your spelling and grammar and get rid of that gay sounding tag.

5. cstfx

cstfx

trading positions at REAL cuurency shops are hard to come by unless you have someone who can help you get your foot in the door. That being said, many firms DO have training programs that solicit recent college grads as opposed to experienced traders as they don't want to hire those who already have an opinion and such. A newbie is so much easier to break and think like the rest of the pool.

Suggestions:

(a) get the addresses of the major firms. If you want fx, look at major banks too. Inquire about their training programs. Play up your academic credentials (believe it or not, grammar is important and bad use of such will get your resume trashed).

(b) Even tho you have graduated, try to get an unpaid internship as a means to get in.

(c) Go to grad school