delta gamma neutral calendar spreads

Discussion in 'Options' started by luisHK, Jan 10, 2013.

1. luisHK

luisHK

Hi

I'm looking to bet on increasing volatility before mid march, preferably on ES options, and I'm a total noob at spreads (among a bunch of other things). In my Mc Millan on Options edition, page 448, he shows a 3 leg calendar spread where he seems to neutralize the gamma

For XYZ= 100 vol=20% on Jan 2nd

Long 52 June 100 calls
    Short 44 March 100 calls
    Long 15 June 100 puts

which brings the kind of PnL graph I'm looking for.
    yet with TWS I can't manage to graph a similar position, nor play easily with the number of contracts to see the resulting greeks.( I was looking at 1470 march 15 calls and 1470 june 21 calls and puts)

Anyone care to indicate a position in the same spirit that woud work, and point me on a website where I could calculate and graph the PnL for this kind of spread (I don't want to pay to use the software to begin with as I *might* give up with spreads faster than I started, a free trial would be nice).

Obviously hints at how to graph this with TWSwould be most welcome as well

Thanks

2. luisHK

luisHK

Ah yes, the position could be with less debit and puts, but I would like to keep it as much gamma neutral as possible, rather with a bearish bias if any

3. isolating vol to play term structure isn't easy.. its not easy to find a free place to graph calender risk.. .

4. luisHK

luisHK

Well, it's not easy for me at least... i guess there are decent programs with a 1 week trial or so, but I would be looking for something easy to grasp

Also looking at a spread like :

buy march 15 1515 put *10
    sell march 15 1450 put *5

for a debit of approx 440, but none for time value

Am I right this spread should benefit from increased vol, which wouldn't be the case for a non ratioed spread ?

I might do it as well 3/6 or 8/4