Deja Vu

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Nicodemus, Sep 23, 2001.

1. When I was young my dream was to be a professional gambler. I studied probabilities, designed systems. I got be a pretty good poker player. I didnt do well in no limit games because I was not a good bluffer, but I did ok in limit games where the odds were on my side. I think I could have made a living at it but I began to realize there were other factors that I had not considered. Limit games are pretty boring 95% of the time. Hour after hour in a smoke filled room sitting at a table with seven people whose primary goal in life was to separate you from your money. I became disenchanted with my dream and moved on to other things. Fast forward to the late 90's . I read an article in a magazine about daytrading and a light bulb went off in my head. I was born to do this. I read a few books and opened my trading account in March, 2000. I rode the market down kicking and screaming all the way. I quit, got back in, quit, got back in. Finally I bottomed out and went into congestion. I traded in a range for awhile, then, slowly began to climb. I am at the point now where I know I can trade successfully if I want to. The thing is that what works for me is boring 95% of the time and I'm competing with people who want nothing more than to take my money.

2. Magna

Magna Administrator

At least there's no smoke-filled room...

3. limbo

limbo

Nicodemus please tell me what you are saying-or pointing out here? From whence comes the title of the thread-Deja vu?

4. Limbo,
    since you said please I will assume you are serious. Deja vu is repeating the past. Occasionally on Sundays, I toast myself a time or two and tend to get poetic. Sorry if the subject is off topic.

5. Atlantic

Atlantic

nicodemus -

if you can trade successfully in markets like these - you should feel happy.

it's like everywhere in the world - like always in life - somebody wants your money - gotta accept it.

6. Cesko

Cesko