Deflation-stealth in '08 shows face in '10

Discussion in 'Economics' started by deadbroke, Aug 3, 2010.

1. Judging from the threads on Deflation/Inflation its appropriate to ask ALL ET-ers, "Why aren't you in school? Do your parents know what you're doing?" :D

----------------------

let's get to it, then ....

I'm an avid student of DEFLATION, a tough subject especially given that none of us experienced its last bout in the Great Depression of the 1930s. So we have no practical experience. But such experience is coming bigtime IN SPADES. Actually its been trickling in since 2005 but despite the real estate crash its hardly been easy to identify its presence ELSEWHERE. Its going to hurt even the ones who are prepared but the opportunity to learn will be huge.

Of course body death will then cause the forgetter mechanism to kick in and all will be forgotten by the time I wake up sucking on a tit in some hospital in China, starting a new life hoping to then serendipitously find ET so I can revisit what I once knew and learned about Deflation IN THIS THREAD. :) :)

One ET-er said that Deflation is a good thing because it means falling prices as in a market correction, so why is that a bad thing if we can then buy cheaper etc., etc., ?

This and more will be answered and since this is an intense thought provoking thread esp. for me, its not likely anyone will ever state that Deflation is a good thing ever again.

All are welcome, even that useless bum, Lucrum. :) :D :D

2. Deflation defined: (I'm sticking with bobby's initial basic concepts because they are simply the very best)

Webster's defines Deflation as a contraction in the volume of money and credit relative to available goods.

When the volume of money and credit falls relative to the volume of goods available, the relative value of each unit of money rises, making prices of goods generally fall.