Deep in the Money Play

Discussion in 'Options' started by switze22, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Ok, so I am new to Options, but I like the idea of Deep in the Money plays.

Seems like a good way to make return with less risk than owning the stock itself.

So, 2 questions.

1. Say I think stock ABC is going up. The stock price is at $100, and I buy an option with a Strike price of $10 with a premium of 91.50.

So, I would pay 91.50 x 100, and have my option.

Then, assuming delta is 1, for every $1 the stock goes up, the option will go up $1 as well.

So, before the expiration date, I can sell the option for a profit. But, if the option expires below what I paid, then I would only lose the extrinsic value of the option?

Should I be worried about low volume if im only buying 1 contract?

Ok, #2.

I think apple is going to go up on earnings on Tuesday.

I currently own like 39 shares equal to around $6,300.

Would it make more sense for me to sell the shares and buy a Deep in the Money option before Tuesday? Which expiration month should I pick?

Seems like I could make more money with less risk.

Ok, thanks everybody. Sorry about my ignorance, but I am trying really hard to learn options.

Thanks,

David

2. MTE

MTE

If the stock expires below 101.50 then you would have a loss on the option equal to (stock price - 10) - 91.50. So, if the stock expires at 90, for example, then your loss is 90 - 10 - 91.50 = -11.50.

Deep itm, low volume = wide bid/ask spread = significant slippage.

I wouldn't recommend doing this until you actually have a good understading of options, at which point you should know the answer to this question yourself.

3. So that would be a -$1,150 loss?

4. MTE

MTE

Yup!

5. contango2

contango2

Each deep in the money options contract (delta close to 1)behaves similarly to owning (or shorting) 100 shares of the underlying.