Deciding between Amibroker and Traderstudio

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by inquisitive, Mar 13, 2009.

1. Greetings,

Some background information: I am a new systems trader and am deciding between Traderstudio and Amibroker based on their price. I have read Curtis Faith's book "Way of the Turtle" where he gives a number of systems and the results in specific time periods. My plan is to first reproduce these numbers so I can verify I know what I'm doing and then I would like to test my trading systems historically. I would like to be able to program a complete system, including criteria to enter a trade, when to increase or decrease size, when to sell, % of money to allocate to each stock, etc and then have the program calculate returns and other data. It would also be nice if I could create the kind of graphs that Faith uses in his book.

How do Amibroker and Traderstudio compare in terms of backtesting? Can I program a strategy and an amount of money and see exactly how much I would have made/lost over specific time periods?

How many years back does the data go or do I have to purchase the data separately and how much does it cost?

Are stock splits handled correctly?

I have no programming experience but am extremely intelligent. How long will it take me to figure out either of these programs and how long does it usually take to program a system?

Can I use these programs to screen current stocks based on my criteria?

Do these programs have access to historical and current volume data as this is a component of my trading system?

Thank you very much for any input!

2. Also, just came across Ninjatrader. Can it do free backtesting??

3. NinjaTrader_Ray

NinjaTrader_Ray ET Sponsor

Absolutely!

4. Yes to both.