Debit Spreads and Vega

Discussion in 'Options' started by bigchair, Jul 17, 2012.

1. bigchair

bigchair

I'm still learning options trading and have been doing Double Calendars for about a year now. I'm curious if there are debit spread stradegies that are negative vega positions?

My reason is that I can't afford the margin requirements to place most credit spreads.

Thanks,

Paul

P.S. - I'm new to the forum.

2. <<< My reason is that I can't afford the margin requirements to place most credit spreads. >>>

The cash requirement for a credit spread is the gap of the spread.
    If you have $5,000 you wish to risk on a credit spread of $15/$14, you can initiate 50 contracts.
    If your gap is $15/$12 you can initiate 16 contracts. ( Divide $5,000 by 3).

Makes no difference if you are using a 3 point 10/7 gap or a 3 point 75/72 gap.
    You can initate 16 contracts on either one using your $5,000 in cash.

HOWEVER, since your 16 contracts with a $75 strike will cost you $120,000 to buy, if it gets put to you between your strikes, chose your strikes carefully.... as well as how many contracts you use.
    Since you can't buy the stock with your $5,000, you will instead have to close the trade for a partial, or a huge, or a total loss of your $5,000... depending on whether you close it high, medium or low, between the strikes or below it.

Credit spread may sound safer than selling naked puts (which have their own risks), but they can more easily wipe you out if you don't trade with the understanding that a sudden and severe drop can force you into a maximum loss situation.
    So keep that in mind when selecting strike prices.
    Not all 1 or 2 or 3 point strike gaps are equal, even if they require the same margin.