Debating on going from part time to full time

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by cunparis, Oct 28, 2007.

1. I'm hoping to get a bit of advice from others here who are more experienced than I am. I have been doing stocks based on the IBD method but I found that my mutual funds were doing better than I am. I have Matthews China which is doing great, 120% 1 year average. I've been in and out of mutual funds and it seems like I make money in stocks but then I have one big loser that wipes out a lot of my earnings. I think now I realize that I can't really do stocks part time, it's quite risky. There have been days I've lost a lot of money, whereas if I had been trading full time that day I could have better managed my losses.

I work as a consultant and can make about $500/day net after taxes. So now I'm debating whether I can make that or more in trading. Actually I'd have to make more because if not the best approach would be mutual fund + work.

So I'm thinking I can keep the majority of my money in mutual fund investments and dedicate a certain amount to trading stocks. That would give me about $50k to invest. If I do better than the mutual funds then I can adjust the ratios.

I think in a bull market it's definitely doable. But if there is a bear market, I could pick up some consulting work.

I have some questions to get me going if someone can be so kind as to get me on the right track I'd greatly appreciate. I've identified the following areas that I'd like some guidance:

- learning (via books)
    - choosing a broker
    - how to set up screens & alerts
    - which software

Learning:

I've read a few books on trading (William O'Neil's book, currently reading Oz's The Stock Trader). Any other books that should be on my must read list?

Choosing a broker: