Daytraders ONLY - Execution, Hotkeys, Setup ?'s

Discussion in 'Trading' started by ryanturri, Apr 1, 2008.

1. Not sure if this is in the correct section, if not Mods please move it as you see fit.

I've been trying to figure out how some of the serious daytraders out there trade. Since I work in the industry, I have to trade with either Schwab or Fidelity, I chose Fidelity. That said, I can seem to spot moves well but by the time I go in to my account and put in an order the stocks (or ETF's) have already moved a good amount. Besides that, I always get terrible execution if I do market orders but I don't seem to have many options.

So my question is, how do you guys trade and what do you use?

My thought is that ideally I would have a hotkey set up to buy/sell certain stocks/ETF's/options and maybe have different algorithems or whatever to either split the bid/ask or just hit the bid. In the meantime, I'm struggling.... Any thoughts would be helpful. Thanks.

2. Lucrum

Lucrum

I'm using Interactivebrokers TWS and it does allow for user configurable hot keys.

3. Most of the guys who intra-day trade here (which is what you are talking about) use a Depth of Market ("DOM") order entry software like NinjaTrader, Button Trader or Zeroline Trader.

Look them up so you can see what I mean.

4. any "mainstream" broker like Schwab or Fidelity are absolutely not suitable for day trading. You have to have direct access broker with full Level2 (DOM) quotes, there are lots of such brokers, just read http://www.elitetrader.com/br/

I can personally recommnd Genesis (www.gndt.com)
    more info about their platform
    http://www.gndt.com/technology/trading.htm
    http://www.gndt.com/lasermanual/

Alex

5. wjk

wjk

Right hand on the mouse, left on the hot keys. Orders executed at IB, charts tracked at Tradestation, Indicies and level two at E signal. Overall best for me after 5 years. Daytrades and scalps.