DAYTRADERS: % of daily profit you are willing to give back?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by IWT2008, Sep 9, 2008.

1. IWT2008

IWT2008

Do you have a set level of your daily P&L that you are willing to give back while you continue to trade the rest of the day?

Sort of like a trailing stop for your daily P&L so you dont give back too much profit.

I am not saying to look at your P&L all day but when you do check it throughout the day how are you determining when you have given back too much profit?

I know there are differences of opinions in regards to whether or not to set daily P&L goals but if you are a $500/day (for example)trader it seems silly to give back more than $100 (25%) of this if you have met your goal already.

2. For me it depends how I lose it. This is only because I have almost two years of experience; for beginners a set number might be better, but with me it depends how I lose the money. If I'm doing the right thing, and my strategy still works, but an exogenous event causes me to lose money and I FULLY accept that loss (I know myself well enough... I didn't always, but now I do, to know when I will accept a loss vs. channel anger inwardly). If the loss was from being in an undisciplined trade, I can give back 10% of my day and sometimes I'll stop for that... but if it's 70% on one trade, where I wasn't holding it against me but I the slippage got me far more than I anticipated, I won't stop just because it's a number. Basically, it depends how I lose the money, and how I react to losing money. If I lose the money gambling and and angry at myself and gave back half my day I will stop. If I lost the money trading my system and I gave back 80% of the day and I'm a little disgruntled with the situation but not feeling any urges to gamble and not feeling an increase in anxiety or a desperate desire to get the money back, I will sit back, relax, and wait for the next setup.