daytrade future options

Discussion in 'Options' started by wtfomdecay, Aug 19, 2007.

1. as a longtime options trader, i have been trying on a small scale a new type of trade. i am interested in talking to others who may have tried daytrading on the short side.

playing gaps, reversals, trends, etc. out completely eod. last week i sold puts on es when i decided the market went as far as it would go for my timeframe. i went 40pts otm and bought back on a reversal. i only netted 1 pt (slippage, lack of experience, etc) on 10 lots.

i am trying this strategy because i believe the options offer me more of a possibility of grabbing the points than trading the underlying using stops. being otm offers me that cushion that i am used to and reduce the emotions when you are watching your account move toward the stops when trading the emini's.

again, i am looking for comments from those who have tried daytrading options; not those who never have tried; even if your theories on why not to trade options make sense.

2. Your risks will be larger when daytrading options instead of futures. (1) There is no "cushion" with out-of-the-money options. Their values will adhere to the valuation equations. (2) The emotions will be the same. You'll still have to contend with when to get in and out of positions. (3) You can expect larger slippage with options. (4) The option-greeks can influence option values differently than what you're expecting. (5) Selling index-puts is riskier than selling index-calls. When the market falls, implied volatility usually goes up, more to the detriment of the put-seller than a call-seller who becomes farther-out-of-the-money. (6) Your "strategy" should work best during the week before expiration when the time-decay is strongest. Take it all with a grain of salt.

3. well nazz, as you may know, i am determined....