Datastore design recommendations

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Clark Bruno, Jan 24, 2022.

1. Hello everyone, my first post.

I am an algorithmic trader and have so far stored my temporal sequence data in my own binary file data store. I am in the midst of changing parts of my architecture. I came across Clickhouse, an open source highly performant time series database and have one question, as I have never stored tick based data that I use for back testing in a conventional database:

I could import my currency tick based data for one symbol to experiment with performance optimizations. The schema is simply : timestamp (long), bid (float64) and ask (float 64), altogether three columns in the table. Do you now recommend to create separate tables for each symbol or would you store all symbols of an identical asset class in the same table? One symbol alone is around 370 million records. Adding 30 or more symbols for all my currencies is not a big deal, performance wise. The database can deal with many billions of records. But would this be advisable?

What do you guys do, particularly those who work with columnar databases?

shuraver likes this.
  2. What I did was store blocks of pandas dataframes in SQL something like:

block date start, block date end, instrument id, pandas dataframe

Baron likes this.
  3. Got it, and that may make sense for your use case. What I worry about is that if I added an additional column that denotes the instrument Id then that would constitute a lot of additional space, required.

4. Why not try it and find out? The above was what I found after much testing.

5. BTW, I tried with the popular file formats as well parquet and whatever else. The above was the best. Note that the pandas dataframe was compressed.