database selection......

Discussion in 'App Development' started by cdcaveman, Jul 29, 2012.

1. Ok... I've been doing some research trying to figure out the best solution for my situation...
    Currently i'm trading with Interactive brokers.. I trade mainly options.. I have bought Hoadleys excel fiancial add in and started messing around with it.. I've got some experience with programming but less and less as you go down the abstraction level. Meaning i know web application languages... I've taking a class in visual basic and didn't complete it.. And i'm not scared to dig in and learn new things... That being said
    I've been thinking about scraping bid ask last and volume for options of stocks that i follow and insert them into a db.. Does anyone have experience with this?

2. Just to add to what i'm trying to do .. I'm going to use web applications as well. . So i was figuring on mysql. . I found drivers for mysql to excel so i c an still use my spread sheets and yet still serve the data out to my web apps

3. Seems to me like a good solution if you can get it working with minimum effort that way.

You might take a look into other database types, but it might not be worth the hassle. To me the relational aspect of sql doesn't make much sense when working with tick data. It also makes databases both more complicated and slower to use than some alternatives.

You can look into key-value stores. In essence they are simple and speedy, e.g. Redis.

CouchDB is document store (which features you might not use), might be preferable over Mysql because it has a JSON interface. But that all depends on what web interfaces you use.