data base constrution

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by sevenlaws, Jul 1, 2010.

1. we need some advise. we are new to black box trading and we need to know the best way and set up to store and use data for back testing.. our current program that is being built is considered a grey box but we have black box ideas for the future and want to have evrything ready so we dont need to redo anything..

our program is being built in c#/.net. so i t needs to work with that for the grey box.. for now, but c++ for the future.

ive been reading some of the forum and Binary, HDF5, and R are some of things im interested in. or if there are others better for this situation please add in.. also some insight on how to set the hardware (example) 2 guys in a office is the area we are working from. so it needs to fit that.

im a trader not a programmer so i really need some help if someone would..

thanks ps also we are looking into working with APAMA. anyone have experance or imput about that?

2. you can create a black box trading program but you can't create a database?

3. promagma

promagma

4. you can create a black box trading program but you can't create a database?

well we have two programers that we have working on the program, connecting the fix and all of that , but we are trying to help them out with the data base. the programers are working form out of the state so we need to set up the hardware and data base here. also the programers are good but their not black bok experts so there is a lot of studying going on at the same time, by us and them.

5. also had a question about excel. we can get free tick and historical data from our bloomberg as of right n ow. but we have no idea how to orginze it and have it ready for the programers.. is regular excel files organized by date good enough for now?.. we can only pull a couple days at a time of tick data.