daily expectations

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Boomer, Sep 12, 2003.

1. Boomer

Boomer

in this current market, what are your daily goals. (in terms of dollar amount) i am an undergrad, but follow trading and look forward to it once i graduate. i know things have changed, but by how much. what do you think is a reasonable income currently? what do you think an experienced trader can bring in? and how have times changed in response to this?

2. I do not think this way as it sets me up for disappointment or holds me back.

Daily goal setting is important.....but as a trader I have learned to take what the market gives.

Yes, the lower ranges causes lower profits for some. There are several ways to cope with this. Indeed volatility is necessary for intraday trading profitability. But adjustments can be made to compensate for the character of the market.... for example more frequent trades, longer holds, more leverage, stop and target calibrations....etc.

Perhaps your question is biased with a slant that perhaps you have a suspiscion that day traders are diminishing in number and profitability.

Michael B.

3. RAMOUTAR

RAMOUTAR

My daily goal is to follow my plan and keep disciplined. I stopped focusing on becoming profitable years ago. My focus is follow my rules, keep the risk reward ratio in my favor, enter the trade, manage it, and exit at the stop or target.

I recently applied that way of thinking to my golf game...I'm still high nineties, but look out Tiger!

4. Well said....could not agree more.

As far as Tiger he is distracted with his girlfriend....you might have a chance!

Michael B.

5. I was wondering what his problem was lately...

Kind of like Rocky, he couldn't fight his way out of a wet paper
    bag until Adrian finally told him to "Win". So true...