Currency Futures vs. Spot Forex - Why Spot Forex?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by UncleJ, Mar 5, 2007.

1. UncleJ

UncleJ

Sorry if this has been discussed before. I have been trading spot forex for the past two years and recently became interested in currency futures because of their lower transaction price. The more and more I research it, it became clear that the spot forex market is a big shame setup to take money from new traders through crazy fees (spreads).

The only advantage I can see to spot forex are increased liquidity (which doesn’t matter if you are an average intraday trader) and increased leverage (which is trouble for most new traders).

For those of you who don’t know about currency futures, they are basically the same as trading spot forex but your commissions are a lot less and your money is safer. For example, if I want to open up a position in the spot forex market where my pip value = $25. This would cost me about $100 in spread (if the spread was 4 pips). In the currency futures market, this same trade would only cost me $10. If you make 10 trades per day, you would save $900 each day by trading currency futures instead.

Also, futures brokers are regulated so you wont have to worry about your spot forex broker stealing you money (yes it can happen, just ask Refco customers).

Maybe I am missing something here, but, if you are a small time trader with under $100k account, why would you trade spot forex instead of currency futures?

Thanks

2. UncleJ

UncleJ

Thanks for the links.

From what I can tell, if you are intraday trading with liquid pairs such as EURUSD and GBPUSD, then currency futures are they way to go :)