Currency debasement, how far can it go?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by Debaser82, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Bare with me for a moment.

This is not another one of these oh my god the $ is going to collapse buy gold now topics so don't even go there ok?:)

Nevertheless the following question came to mind.

It has been claimed by many the USD has lost 90% of it's purchasing power since the 1910's.

[​IMG]

Ofcourse, as many would say that doesnt tells the entire story or do you think living standards back then where really higher?

I don't know but if we can agree on the factual debasement let's hop on to question nr 2.

Prior to WWII 1£ used to be worth 5$ correct me if I am wrong.

Now for argument's sake let's agree Sterling and the USD are at parity today.

That's an 80% drop in value of the British Pound VS the USD.

Now when you combine that 80% drop with the 90% in purchasing power you get what for Sterling?

A 99% drop in purchasing power?

I'm not that good with numbers.:)

How do they do this without creating a panic and what does this tell's us about the future of monetary policy across the globe?

Thanks for any responses.:)

2. Which is obviously non-sense because fiat-currencies like Dollars earn interest. Fiat currencies can be exchanged for production assets which yield an average profit. Physical assets do not yield interest; they incur storage costs.

This graph uses the interest paid on 90 day US T-Bills, adjusted for CPI, without accounting for taxes on interest, for the sake of simplicity.

[​IMG]

3. morganist

morganist Guest

first of all you are mixing two different things. the exchange rate (demand for currency) and currency value (quantity of currency) although both are used to set price. they are interrelated however i think you have it confused.