Curious about the Charter of UN

Discussion in 'Politics' started by Babak, Apr 11, 2003.

  1. Babak


    Here is what the Charter says about membership of the security council:

    The Security Council shall consist of fifteen Members of the United Nations. The Republic of China, France, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America shall be permanent members of the Security Council. The General Assembly shall elect ten other Members of the United Nations to be non-permanent members of the Security Council, due regard being specially paid, in the first instance to the contribution of Members of the United Nations to the maintenance of international peace and security and to the other purposes of the Organization, and also to equitable geographical distribution.

    Now as far as I know the USSR doesn't exist. So how the heck did Russia take the place of USSR? Anyone know?


  2. The USSR was the communist name of the already existent Russian Empire.
  3. lundy


    equitable geographical distribution?
  4. OHLC


    I think it is a consequence of the role of the UN during the cold war, resolution of conflicts between the nuclear powers, since only US, Russia, France and Britain have the H nukes (the real stuff, not the fission gizmos).

    Would be probably difficult to tell a country able to nuke the planet that they have to comply to UN resolutions...