CTA Startup

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by BGB, Jan 6, 2004.

1. BGB

BGB

I am a futures trader that manages money for myself and some clients in a private managed firm. I make a small salary and then per trade commissions on each account. I started as an analyst and have gone from the fundamantal trading side to a believer in the technical side of managing money. My strategy is discretionary but very sound and I have worked on it with my money and othersfor the last couple of years producing strong returns, espite the $75 per round turn commissions I have to deal with. Myfirmis family owned and fundamentally oriented. We have a salesforce that sells a fundamental story to investors. Although, they have raised me some money (about$1 mill), they don't like the technical story and thus don't realize how the vast majority of money is moved today. I have to sit here and trade that amount while others trade $50 mill. plus.
    The point is that I'm trying to get the courage to leave this firm and start my own CTA. I'm exploring the pro's and cons and startup costs. I am also interested in whether a CTA can collect a portion of commission per trade. My biggest question is can I make it work? I don't have loads of money but I do have enough to live on for one year. I think I can raise a couple of mill. to start. What is a good starting number to create decent income? What are the other key costs which I need to consider? Any input from knowledge or experience would be greatly appreciated. It is very hard to find info on this subject. :confused:

2. Aaron

Aaron

Sure, you can receive a portion of the commissions generated on your accounts — as long as it is disclosed. I, personally, would shy away from investing with a CTA that had an incentive to churn my account, though. I just charge a management and performance fee.