CTA or not to CTA

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by foo, Oct 15, 2006.

1. foo

foo

I did a fairly long search on this site this weekend but, I didn't find exactly what I was looking for so, here goes some of my history and question about taking the CTA route. On a side note, man there is some great advice hidden in these old threads. Acary, I think it was, hit the nail on the head for me about the markets. Wow.

Background-
    I am a commodities broker after first going the financial advisor route. I should have skipped being an FA. Boy was I wrong about that industry having to do anything with trading. If only I would have used the search button back then.

In " FA training" I knew I was in big trouble when one of the trainers put up a daily chart of some stock and said "what is this called", an some of the new eager recruits spit out--a chart, or stock chart and the like and, the trainer replied "a broker's biggest waste of time". It hit me like one of those scenes in a movie where the camera zooms out real quick. I was in the wrong job for trading and I knew right then and there. The rest of training for me involved beer at night, and a poor attitude to follow the next day at training. Nothing against FA's or the industry but, for me I was in the wrong place. Within 3 months after training I bought out of my contract out for a big chunk of change to go work for a commodity firm who made me a great offer to come work with them. I am still paying to this day for this mistake. I also may be the first trainee in FA history to have there non-compete contract enforced against them.