CTA -- How to become Automated?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Chicago_CTA, Feb 4, 2011.

1. Hey everyone,

So I run a CTA which has mostly systematic elements, i.e. my stop size, my profit target, and my set-ups are almost 100% pattern recognition (e.g., inverted head & shoulders, etc.).

Right now I'm looking to become AUTOMATED and am willing to learn what's necessary to do so, in order to become more attractive to institutional capital.

So my question, which I hope you'll be kind enough to answer:

WHAT'S THE BEST WAY TO PROCEED?

I have no programming experience but am willing to learn. Right now I signed up for a free NINJA DEMO so I can use Ninja Script to begin developing my code.

For you automated traders out there, how did you get started once you already had "your system?"

Any helpful advice is appreciated.

-Chicago CTA

:D

2. Are you sure becomeing "automated" would make you more attractive to institutional money?

Automated trading is done for strategy reasons (e.g. if your strategy makes 100's of trades day it would be impractical for a human to do the trades manually). Automating a strategy for any other reason would, I imagine, make it harder to attract money since you would have to show that you had made the necessary technology investments and had proper risk control systems to insure that your system wouldn't go waywire or just shut down with tons of orders hanging out in the market. I would also think compliance would be much more involved if you had to worry about explaining trading algorithms to the regulators.

If you are running a suitably HF strategy then please feel free to ignore my post, and perhaps others can comment

3. So I'm looking into TRADELINK, which seems like a good place to start.

I can write in C#, which is the most popular programming language?

Any other feedback is appreciated.

*BUMP*:D :D