crude down, crude spreads up

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by dartheory, Jan 11, 2013.

1. I'm new to spread trading. I shorted RB, HO, and CL yesterday and have nice profits in them. I also sold some spreads on them. The RB spread was very profitable, (RB is the weakest of the three). HO was profitable and the CL spread was barely profitable (Crude is the strongest of the three)- it barely moved despite Crude dropping from 94 to about 93. I wanted to know if someone can explain why this is.

I sold the RBH3-RBJ3, HOG3-HOH3 spreads.

The Crude spread I sold was CLG3-CLZ3. But I looked at almost all the high volume, tight spread spreads and most of them are unchanged or up!

I decided to sell CLG3-CLZ3 as opposed to CLG3-CLH3, or CLH3-CLJ3 because from my observations it seemed like CLG3-CLH3 was not moving much whereas RBH3-RBJ3 and HOG3-HOH3 were.

Any advice/explanation here would be very useful. Thanks.

2. bone

bone

1. The distilled products will frequently move at different rates than the crude oil due to refining capacity/constraints and seasonal demand. My advice would be to review the educational materials in the Nymex section on the CME website.

2. You are quite fortunate and a bit naive about the delta directionality ( risk ) you are taking on. When you have so many highly correlated products, I personally advise my own clients to choose just one trade entry - it is very ugly to get out of so many positions marking against you at the same time.

3. Spreads - even simple calendar pairs which include the front month, do not always exhibit the same directional tendency as the front month future. The other thing that you are not aware of is the G3 to H3 roll which is now in play. It is very difficult to account for a big commercial or fund rolling 50K Feb futures contracts forward.

3. Thanks for your reply and pointing out the G3-H3 roll. That is something I didn't consider and I will look into it.