CRUCIAL Knowledge about TA.

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by alex.samant, Jan 12, 2008.

1. I am starting this thread because i need to share something to the people who are struggling.

The most important thing in Technical Analysis is understanding what style of trading you are adopting.

Many people losing money have no idea what they are doing because they are self taught and the books that are out there have no clue either. At least 90% of them.

Here is the vital information about TA many of you starting out need to have:

BE AWARE OF THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A DISCRETIONARY AND A MECHANICAL APPROACH!

I have seen people trading like discretionary traders but using indicator based setups and I have also seen people trading chart patterns in a totally mechanical and rigid way.

What you need to know about DISCRETIONARY TRADING is that it is mostly based on recognizing chart patterns, support and resistance to evaluate trend continuation or reversal.
    This style of trading has the advantage that it can be applied on ANY market, ANY timeframe at ANY POINT IN TIME.

What you need to know about SYSTEM TRADING is that it is based on a set of rules given by technical indicators, much more objective than discretionary systems, identifying almost identical market conditions (the setup). The main advantage is it's OBJECTIVITY.

Now, the disadvantage of a discretionary system is the trader itself. If the eye isn't trained, the system is worthless.

The disadvantage of the mechanical rule based system is that when the market doesn't fit the system's profile, the results aren't positive anymore. The parameters don't work anymore and tweaking them won't do you any good.

YOU NEED TO KNOW WHO YOU ARE AND WHAT YOU WANT TO BE.