Critique this strategy....

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by lindq, Aug 28, 2010.

1. lindq

lindq

I'm a trader, not an investor. But I have extra cash with which I'd like to create income instead of just sitting idle.

Here's an idea I've been kicking around. See if you can shoot any holes in it.

1. 100K account. Buy a 200K basket of dividend yielding 'blue chips' paying an average yield of 5-6%. (IB's margin rates are very low at present.)

2. Sell 4 ES futures contracts in the account.

My objective of course is to minimize damage from overall market risk on the downside with the short futures. Individual company risk is protected somewhat by the dividend yield.

If the market rallies, the short futures will lose, but a diversified basket of stocks will tend to rally equally, making it pretty much a wash. But the dividends will continue the same yield.

Other than the possibility of a sharp pullback in one of the stocks being held, I don't see too much downside to this strategy, with the possibility of at least some income from the account.

Intelligent comments?

2. Buy a 200K basket of dividend yielding 'blue chips' paying an average yield of 5-6%. And "blue-chip" and dividends this high are somewhat mutually exclusive.

Here is the first problem. Stocks with this kind of dividend are often so because their stock price got hammered. And the dividend often will be soon reduced drastically to adjust. For various reasons.

If it were this simple, everyone would buy the 5-6% dividend stocks and avoid CDs, bonds, or bank accounts paying 0.5%.

3. MLP's, preferreds.

Noone with a brain follows what pikers/general public does. They buy and sell the wrong things at the wrong times.

4. 1- Your stocks can underperform the S&P by much more than the dividend yield on the stocks. I mean, way more