Credit Spreads Strategy

Discussion in 'Options' started by countdrak, Feb 3, 2016.

1. I have been playing with small option positions for the past 12-15 months and have realized that I am just not good at predicting directions on where a stock is going ;). Last few months I have been using Iron condors on SPY and collecting some decent credit (again very small positions every week).

My question - Why don't most people use credit spreads and just trade a range for stocks/indexes that have a tight range AFTER earnings? Maybe use 1STD or even 2STD away? I am missing something obvious - so want people to poke holes in my strategy. Is it because the gains are small for higher risks?

Thanks!

2. OptionGuru

OptionGuru

Credit Spreads and Volatility don't mix. And the market is very volatile, including after earnings.

:)

Windlesham1 likes this.
  3. Sideways markets, like last year, are good for market neutral strategies... if you found something that works, stay the course and keep doing it; just be ready for when the market conditions go against you and adjust your strategy.

It's also about vol, you want to sell when is high an buy when is low. Selling low vol credit spreads may not be worth the risk. And, if the security has a very tight range, there's probably not going to be much premium to collect, or lack liquidity, on the front contract. At 2std you could potentially be risking .95 for every .05 that you collect, so a single loss could set you back 19 winners. Now, having said that, credit spreads and condors are good market neutral strategies.

drcha likes this.
  4. Thanks! I think you misunderstood.. That was my point. I am doing credit spreads because volatility is high on the index etfs..and was wondering if it a good strategy to pocket some $$. ;)

5. OptionGuru

OptionGuru

IMO ......... Credit Spreads offer very little value in low and high volatility. Buying options is the way to go.

6. ironchef

ironchef