Credit Spreads- Horrible Risk:Reward?

Discussion in 'Options' started by tommo, Feb 17, 2017.

1. tommo

tommo

I am an experienced futures trader but am looking to supplement with options and been looking into credit spreads

Below is the options chain for the Eurostoxx

[​IMG]

Im looking at doing a credit spread on the put side.
    The 3200 strike has a delta of -21.50 so around my sweet spot in terms of probabilities and offering 19.6 ticks in premium (196 euros credit)

But looking at the strike prices around it, how wide would you typically make a spread? Im thinking of buying the 3100 put which will give me a total of 11 ticks for this credit spread (19.6 ticks for the 3200 strike - 8.7 ticks for the 3100 strike = 11).

So basically I am risking 100 ticks (1000 euros) to make 11 ticks (110 euros) with roughly an 80% chance of winning based on implied vol. That seems like a pretty horrible trade, if i make 100 euros 8 times out of ten and lose up to 1000 euros the other 2 times (on average) im probably break even at best. But more than likely out of pocket. EVen if I had a great market timing edge and got that up to 90-95% win rate im still around break even

I appreciate volatility is very low at the moment. But even so, the probabilities of reaching each strike price are relative. Am i missing something? Does that mean there are no trades to be done here?

Is the edge in how you handle credit spreads going offside.. rolling them, butterflying them etc. Because just on its on, left to expiry based on the numbers i have outlined is a bad strategy

Would really appreciate some clarification

2. The reward:risk sounds about right for credit spreads. Delta is a proxy for the probability of expiring in the money. So if you're planning on not managing these credit spreads (i.e. let them all expire) that's your probability.