credit crunch - what exactly is the problem?

Discussion in 'Economics' started by turbodog, Nov 20, 2008.

1. turbodog

turbodog

I don't get it, what exactly is the problem. I can get the mortgage, I can get credit card, auto loan. My income is stable. What is credit crunch then? Can you explain for "dummies" what exactly is going on with financials right now.

Thanks

2. that what I've been saying all along since June 2007. There is all this talk of crisis, credit crunch, recession but nothing has really changed.

If you want a good summary of the so called 'crisis' look it up on wikipedia. It mostly involves a minority of homeowners who couldn't pay their mortgages due to falling home prices, which is dragging down stocks.

3. I'll agree with the "mortgage" as i just got one in August, but I tried for a secured loan and was denied with a 700 fico score. So if banks will not lend when you put up collateral, Imagine trying to get credit without. Its not about the people trying to get home loans, its the businesses that need credit to run their day to day operations that are having trouble.

4. Your credit score must be high, no? The banks will lend to you but not to each other, they can't tell who's solvent.

5. I have a 725 fico and just got an investor mortgage in san diego entirely with self employed income. Gave them all the docs, but I believe the lender didn't even pull my tax return to verify. That closed Oct 20th.

6. TGregg

TGregg

Yeah, I can. When people say credit crunch it sounds like they mean nobody is willing to lend money. But that's not entirely correct.