Creating your own front-end api...

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by Merovingian, Jul 29, 2005.

1. Where to start? I have used a couple of front-end apps (button, ninja) and while I have found them very slick and definately useful, the two main problems are

a) I can't get them to do exactly what I want, or if I can the app is bloated with uneccessary features (for my purposes)

b) the developer chooses what brokers to comply/not comply with which takes away your flexibility

I am a discretionary equities trader, I don't want to build an automated black box just something similar to a superDOM that enters all my orders through the brokers api. I was wondering if anyone else on ET has done something similar to this and had any suggestions on where to start.

2. wizardx

wizardx

What exactly do you need your front-end to do? It sounds like you need something customized to fit your needs.

Also, you really can't choose any broker. The broker needs to provide an api interface so that your front-end can connect to it.

3. Hi Merovingian,

I'm sure one day "you'll get there". You must be one of the few to grasp that the above trader-gismos are only "busy-boxes" for the reputed 90+% losers.
    Read more: http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=52989

Be good,
    nononsense

4. I dont have any stats but I think your way off base with this broad statement. I think people willing to pay $50+ a month for a front end like Ninja trader and Buttontrader have a good reason for doing so.

5. jfilla

jfilla

Merovingian,

Hello. To help you out, could you tell me a little more about your background?

Are you a developer?
    What type of programming languages have you used?
    Do you know what broker you want to interface with?
    What are the basic features you want in the app?