Crash of 2005

Discussion in 'Trading' started by SkinnyV, Nov 7, 2005.

1. SkinnyV

SkinnyV

Ok. ...ok already. This thread is simply to get the conversation started. I have never seen such a confusing market in my career. I have been a professional trader with Carlin (Generic) since 1999. I have made a great sum of money using technical analysis over the years; however, lately; it has been a struggle.

My synopsis of current market conditions is rather Bearish. I enjoy seeing Bob P. (CNBC) telling everyone that the hedge fund community is "praying," and "hoping" for a fourth quarter rally. I LOVE seeing Cramer declaring that the fourth Q rally has begun. We currently have an unprecedented number of hedgefunds "praying" for a fourth Q rally. Many of which, if not all, are selling volatility in order to "make" a number (i.e. selling naked S&P puts and calls .. as a generalization). Is a fourth Q rally a God given right? According to all the "talking heads" it appears to be so. "This is not my beautiful house......This is not my beautiful wife..." Sorry, couldn't resist.

I conclude with the following statement: I wish for a trend. Not a two or ten day trend, but a rather longer term trend. To me, it seems as if there is a hint of speculation in the air from hedge funds to make some numbers before year end...If the can't make money; they will liquidate (why be in business if you can't make your 20%). If the market turns over from here (11/7); we could have a crash. However, I do realize that we are now in the "quite" period of the market. However, given the fact that there is a great deal of "hope," as-well-as, underperforming hedge funds; a rather hefty sell-off before year end could be in the cards. Food for thought.

p.s. Please.....only well thought-out comments welcome.

G. Vance Gray (ve-ri-tas)

2. We're not going to have a 'crash'.

GDP is very good.
    Unemployment is very low
    Corporate earnings are up, many with double digit gains.