CQG vs. Thinkorswim data feed accuracy

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by heispark, Apr 6, 2018.

1. heispark

heispark

When you compare CQG and Thinkorswim charts side-by-side, you find candles look different even in intra-day charts. Which one is accurate? I am currently using CQG (through AMP Futures) but considering move to Thinkorswim because of this issue. I am heavily using MT4 for chart analysis (I started trading career from Forex, I am new to Futures), and MT4 brokers support only Forex or CFD products. Thinkorswim charts are more close to CFD charts, although not exactly identical. Execution itself is not a big concern but when I put SL and TP, it's often confusing because I make decision based on MT4 charts... Any idea?

Last edited: Apr 6, 2018
  2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

If I had to guess, and this is just a guess, I would put my money on the largest futures platfrom world wide that every FCM offers as being correct vs a retail platform that offers futures as a side business.

KeLo, Equalizer, SkyChef and 3 others like this.
  3. heispark

heispark

Thank you Robert for your feedback..... it helps. :thumbsup:

4. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

It is interesting as I spoke to a TD/TOS user just yesterday that told me he wanted to switch to me from what looked like slow futures data feeds and lagging executions with TOS.

We offer CQG Q Trader, CQG Desktop, CQG LITE, in addition to RealTick. I get no complaints about speed for either manual or automated traders until they require low latency, they they need another solution that is hosted.

5. heispark

heispark

Thank you for details and good information. If I knew all the troubles involving datafeeds and platforms, I would have just sticked to Forex. In Forex, charts are free, same and universal regardless of brokers and platforms.... I don't understand why charts are different even if they are traded under the same Exchanges... :vomit:

6. Robert Morse