covered calls

Discussion in 'Options' started by osho67, Apr 14, 2004.

1. I want to commit 150k for covered calls on US stocks and QQQ. I will always do the covered call on the nearest month and have insurance as well by buying a lower price put. The idea is to generate about 20% return. I will be using IB.

Please be kind to give your comments as to whether this strategy can work or what else can I do to make improvements. The object is to leave full time job and find a part time job with extra income from .

I am new to elite trader so please be kind and gentle. Thanks

2. ig0r

ig0r

20% might be a little tough, shoot for closer to 10-12%.

When trying to generate an income, lower risk is a priority.

3. Maverick74

Maverick74

Your position is not a covered call but rather what's called a collar. A collar is used to protect a position, not really derive income from it. You are better off selling the put, more edge and same risk. So you would just be short the put, no calls or stock.

4. SumJurk

SumJurk

Ya, that's what I was going to say, but it's sort of hard to explain to a lot of people.

Here's a chart showing the comparison. As, you can see the "selling a put" strategy does in fact have an edge over covered call writing.

Hope this helps...

[​IMG]

5. Thanks for the replies. I have done what I said for two months and I have received about 20% income. I have tried selling puts but when prices are going down i tend to worry at the prospect that I will have to buy the shares. For two months I have only invested about 30k so this may not be representative, and maybe I will try selling some puts as well and see how well this goes.

6. At the moment I pick high market cap shares and see the chart for one year and if price is going up ,I will pick that share and if the premium is good I will select that share for covered write. Is there any other better way to pick the shares? Thanks for guidance.

7. Maverick74

Maverick74