Covered calls. How are they risky?

Discussion in 'Options' started by zfmt, Oct 1, 2011.

1. zfmt

zfmt

I was at a derivative event and a guy was saying how Covered Calls are really risky and anyone who thinks different doesn't know anything about derivatives. I have read about Covered Calls, I didn't think they were risky. Naturally, I didn't say anything. I just agreed with the guy because everyone else was (I didn't want to look like I don't know anything about derivatives.)

How are they risky? I thought the only risk is that you have potentially infinite opportunity cost if the stock sky rockets. But, I mean, that doesn't seem to be the risk he was talking about. He made it seem like an investor could lose all their money. I don't see how.

Was he just being dramatic? Or is there something I don't know?

I'm a little new to this.

2. newwurldmn

newwurldmn

You are right. He's wrong.

They aren't riskier than a buy and hold strategy. That is if you have an 100,000 account you do covered calls on <= 100,000 of notional.

What people tend to do if they have a 100,000 account is to do some kind of covered call strategy on 200,000. That is risky but only because of the leverage. Not because of the strategy.

3. You buy XYZ at $10, write a CC with say, 11 strike, for $1. XYZ goes to zero, you keep your $1 but lose your $10 paid for XYZ. There's your risk, same as long stock minus premium received.

4. Covered call has same risk/reward as selling naked puts. If you can handle one, you can handle the other. If you're prone to over-leverage, neither one is likely to be suitable.

5. daveyc

daveyc