Covered call question

Discussion in 'Options' started by serg007, Apr 19, 2005.

1. serg007

serg007

Hi everybody !
    I am new to this ET area, so please forgive me if this question was already discussed earlier.
    I am considering selling May call option on my current long DIA position, but I am doubtful about the mechanics of this trade.
    For example, the cost of DIA long is 101,50 and I can sell May call with 103 strike at $1.
    If on expiration DIA will trade below 103, no questions, I just pocket the $1 premium.
    But what happens if DIA goes above 103 before expiration and then falls ? Will the option be exercised ? (I've heard the options traded on US exchanges are usually American style).
    If it will, how it will be reflected on the account- will I have 2 different positions in DIA (long 101,50 ans short 103) or I will be squared ? :confused:

I will really appreciate any reply :)

2. Ninja

Ninja

3. MTE

MTE

I suggest you get yourself educated before trading options, but to answer your question:

You're correct, if DIA expires below 103 then you pocket the $1 premium. Options don't get exercised the instant they go ITM, so if the DIA goes above 103 it doesn't automatically mean that you'll be assigned. Generally spreaking, as long as an option has more than $0.25 time value the risk of early assignment is low, once the time value goes below $0.25 you may be assigned early, and yes, DIA options are American-style.

In any case, if you're assigned (be at expiry or early) your calls are covered, which means that your stock position will be used to deliver on those calls. In other words, you'd be effectively selling your long stock position at the strike.

By the way, no matter what happens, you still keep that $1 premium.

4. serg007

serg007

Thanks a lot, Ninja for the links and MTE for the detailed answer :)