Could I get a little advice on where to start?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by miatamatt, Mar 19, 2010.

1. How did everyone learn to trade? I have $2k to open a trading account with but before I do I want to study. This is money that I could easily walk away from not if but when I lose it. I know some basics but that's about it. I have read a couple of great books Market and New Market Wizards, plus a couple others. Again I am really new to this but this forum is great and full of useful information. I would one day like to become a day trader but I don't have the capital to start an account so I'm looking to swing trade for the mean time until I can build my account more. Im not relying on this for any source of income right now, but one day I would. Any tips on where to begin?

Miata

2. Redneck

Redneck

IMO,

Set your money aside for now

Set up a sim account, pick one stock, and learn to trade it consistently... While doing this create a trading plan, and a journal

Trading plan = What you should be doing..., Journal = What you are actually doing..., Ultimately the two need to match

Stock suggestions = ATR .50 cent to .85 cents… Average Daily Volume = >1M

Keep however you trade & your trading plan simple... thorough… but simple

Maybe read Trading in the Zone... But limit what you read significantly - because the more you learn now - the more you’ll need to unlearn later

Do a fair amount of searching and reading here

Also lean to set aside your ego and opinion, and follow price

eta - Learn Risk Management - This is a must

Much Success to You

RN

3. dozu888

dozu888

pick 1 stock or ETF, such as SPY - stare at the price - price alone, for 10,000 hours.

wax on wax off.

4. Thank you very much RN. Im having a hard time understanding how to find ATR. Ive googled, but Im not really understanding it.

5. Redneck

Redneck

6. LeeD

LeeD