Could educating yourself be bad?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Smart Money, Mar 13, 2009.

1. I once read an article that talked about the concept that MBA schools create conformity of thought since they tend to teach the same kinds of stuff the same way.

I was wondering how this applies to charting/technical analysis. I can see elements that may or may affect price action without picking up a book. So my question is...if I pick up a book, and really study it...stuff like head and shoulders formations, cup with a handle, etc., will that truly help me? I mean, if I look at a chart and reach the same conclusions about a stock or a market as other traders who read the same book, is that good or bad?

Can this stuff be self-taught? And would that be an advantage, or a disadvantage?

Note that I'm keenly aware that the majority of people haunting this forum are interested in the academic end of things. This is like going to a seminar for horoscopes and asking if horoscope charting is needed.

SM

2. Self taught is the ONLY way.

3. +1

4. I tend to agree, *but* keep in mind that different people can have vastly different learning styles. Some people learn most effectively in a lecture setting. I was always a mediocre student at best; the things I learned most deeply I taught myself.

I taught myself to windsurf from a book and hours of falling in the water repeatedly. My mother in law paid for lessons, but they were almost completely useless to me. I'm a hands-on learner and I hate being told blah, blah, blah.

I see trading as being very similar.

5. rwk

rwk