Cost of moving from Mutual Fund to ETF?

Discussion in 'ETFs' started by Gruffalo8013, Feb 3, 2019.

1. I have a Wells Fargo Mutual Fund account but I want to move it into an ETF account. Is it possible to move it without incurring capital gains tax?
    Or is it cheaper to leave it and just start adding money from now on to the ETF?
    Or does it strictly depend upon the amount already invested in the Mutual Fund?
    Excuse my ignorance I am pretty new at this.

2. Changing broker/custodian won't incur tax if you can transfer your positions "in kind". Changing from mutual funds to ETF positions will require you to close the MF positions and open new ETFs... will incur tax as appropriate.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
    MoreLeverage likes this.
  3. jharmon

jharmon

ETFs and MFs are different instruments with difference expense ratios, distribution schedules and many other factors.

Firstly, tell us WHY you want to convert to ETF versus leaving it as MF?

MoreLeverage likes this.
  4. Ditto.

If a MF and ETF have the same investment objective, the only significant differences are that the MF will have "end of day only" fills, and be limited in their sell options. If that's not an issue for the investor's style, no significant benefit in replacing one with the other. (May be a small difference in long-term performance for B&H investors in that ETFs typically have slightly lower management fees. Fidelity is even doing a "zero management fee" S&P 500 ETF.... as a loss leader to attract biz?)

Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
    murray t turtle likes this.
  5. ZBZB

ZBZB

There is an advantage of putting your assets in a margin account though as you can trade other strategies on margin. Is the mutual fund in a margin account?

6. srinir

srinir