Cost Of Carry

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by opmtrader, Nov 28, 2005.

1. I have a simple question regarding "Cost of Carry" for ES futures. As a shorter term trader I have remained ignorant of these effects.

What I want to know is what difference would there be between holding $60,000 worth of SPY stock and rolling $60,000 worth of ES futures (~ 1 contract) for a year. Lets assume the S&P 500 index went up 10%.

Would both positions be worth $66,000 or would the futures position be less due to this cost of carry? My understanding is that the futures would be making less in some relation to the interest rate because of the inherent "free" leverage associated with it.

Please help educate me on the matter as I am rather embarrassed of my ignorance on this topic. Thank you.

2. Not an answer but volatility in markets is directly related to cost of carry. Just my opinon.

John

3. cakulev

cakulev

Yes, you are correct.
    The futures return will be underperforming SPY by risk-free rate.
    If this was not the case you could put fully collateral in T-bills and outperform the market by 4%. You would be mega star in mutual fund industry!

4. cakulev

cakulev

Nope, this is for option pricing, not futures.

5. cakulev

That was my exact plan !!!!!

So is it exactly the T-Bill rate or what? There's got to be a way to use the free cash that futures allow to juice the returns of a buy and hold investment. Guess I need to be more creative.

Would there be a better rate available than the one implicit in the futures? Correct me if I'm wrong but in the typical index futures contract, would your cost of carry relate directly to a three month interest rate? What if you committed to doing this for buy and hold futures for ten years and instead bought a ten year note from the gov't at a higher rate? Could this mitigate our costs or even beat the cost of carry on the shorter rate? What if you waited for a nice steep yield curve to do this?